Wednesday, November 30, 2022
HomeAthletics1997 YC Men’s Soccer Team Earns NJCAA Hall Of Fame Honors

1997 YC Men’s Soccer Team Earns NJCAA Hall Of Fame Honors

1997 YC Men’s Soccer Team Earns NJCAA Hall Of Fame Honors

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Earlier this week, the NJCAA announced that the 1997 Yavapai College men’s soccer team is set to be inducted into the NJCAA Men’s Soccer Coaches Association Hall of Fame in the Class of 2022. 

Mortimer\'s Farm
Empire Detail

Joining the historic YC squad is Triston Henry of Herkimer College in New York. 

The 1997 team at YC was another historic installment in the storied program that is Yavapai College men’s soccer. The Roughriders captured the program’s third national championship in 1997 and did so as the first unbeaten team in program history with an overall record of 23-0-1. 

After defeating South Mountain Community College 10-0, the Roughriders tied San Diego Mesa 2-2 to move to 13-0-1 on the season in 1997. Following the tie, YC earned 10-consecutive victories to clinch the conference, region, district and national championship. 

At the national tournament, in Trenton, New Jersey, the squad turned in a historic performance as the Roughriders did not allow a single goal, defeating State Fair (MO) 1-0 in penalty kicks (4-2) in the quarterfinal match, Mt. Ida (MA) 3-0 in the semifinal match and Mercer (NJ) 3-0 in the national championship game. 

While legendary Hall of Fame Head Coach Mike Pantalione took home NJCAA Coach of the Year and Coach of the Tournament honors, forward Kevin Jeffrey, defender Matt Kirkpatrick and goalkeeper Kelvin Jack earned All-Tournament Team honors with Jack taking home Tournament MVP honors as well. All three athletes are also in the NJCAA Hall of Fame as individuals. 

Full Roster

Head Coach: Mike Pantalione

Assistant Coach: Hugh Bell

Trainer: Scott Farnsworth

Matt Kirkpatrick

Kevin Jeffrey

Kelvin Jack

Hakim Bakhti

Kim Briels

Thomas Munck

Daniel Roe

Cody Okuda

Junior Becerra

Ty Engram

Ryan Lockhart

Marc Dudley

Dan Lundgren

Andy Hutchison

Alan Watson

Travis Sterling

Ty Hibbert

Jason Martin

Arturo Romo

Nathan Barton

Alberto Mancera

Ramon Garcia

Santiago Aceves

– D.J. Irwin


Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Join our newsletter: